All Confirmed Hogwarts Legacy Spells and Types


Hogwarts Legacy is shaping to be the most beautiful, accurate, and faithful-to-source adaptation of the Wizarding World yet. Beginning on February 10, we’ll finally be able to experience this intricately designed magical world first-hand as we take on the role of a fifth-year student in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

As they progress through the storyline, players will attend spell and potion classes, ride their brooms and mounts to explore and discover both familiar and new locations, as well as confront numerous opponents, both human and nonhuman. While combat in Hogwarts Legacy is solely based on using your wand to cast spells to do damage, players have access to a wide variety of spells that can be seamlessly woven into creative combos.

Here are all the spells that you’ll be able to learn and master in the upcoming action RPG!

Hogwarts Legacy Combat Screenshot

Hogwarts Legacy Spells

Here is every currently known spell in Hogwarts Legacy and what each of them does:

  • Accio (pulls enemies/objects toward the caster)
  • Alohomora (unlocks objects)
  • Arresto Momentum (freezes motion)
  • Confringo (fireball)
  • Descendo (slams enemies into the ground)
  • Diffindo (cuts)
  • Expelliarmus (disarms)
  • Flipendo (knocks target backward)
  • Incendio (ignites enemies)
  • Lumos/Nox (light/dark)
  • Patrificus Totalus (petrifies enemies to immobilize)
  • Protego (shields caster from damage)
  • Revelio (reveals nearby objects)
  • Rictusempra (disarms and distracts opponents)
  • Riddikulus (used against boggarts to change shape)
  • Stupefy (stuns opponents)
  • Wingardium Leviosa (levitates objects/enemies)

The second gameplay showcase video featured most of these seventeen spells in action, and there are still six more unidentified ones that you’ll be able to use in combat.

Hogwarts Legacy Unforgivable Curses

While it’s already established that taking a darker path in Hogwarts Legacy will have ramifications for the story, the decision of whether to become a Dark Wizard or Witch is left up to the players as you will be presented with options as the story progresses. As in the novels and movies, these are the three “Unforgivable Curses” that you can learn and master in the RPG:

  • Avada Kedavra (kills target)
  • Crucio (damage over time or significant damage)
  • Imperio (charms enemies to fight for caster)
Avada Kedavra Spell in Hogwarts Legacy

Types of Spells in Hogwarts Legacy

In Hogwarts Legacy, spells are divided into different categories and color-coded in red, purple, yellow, and green to make them easier to identify.

Category Usage Examples
Essential Spells Can be used outside of combat. You’ll need to use these to progress through specific story missions and side quests. Revelio & Wingardium Leviosa
Attack or Damage Spells
(Red Icon)
Main combat spells that you’ll learn in Defense Against the Dark Arts classes. The primary source of damage. Confringo & Stupefy
Force Spells
(Purple Icon)
Used to displace and move objects and enemies to deal damage. Accio & Descendo
Control Spells
(Yellow Icon)
Spells used for crowd-controlling opponents by immobilizing or interrupting them. Arresto Momentum & Levioso

Opponents’ barriers are also color-coded in the same way and can be broken by using the right type of spell. Damage spells will break red shields; Force spells break purple shields, and so on.

While these advanced spells have cooldowns, and a spell of the same type cannot be used in quick succession, there is a cooldown-free basic attack that you can weave between spells to string them into combos and maintain constant damage cycles during combat. The three Unforgivable Curses have Green Icons.

Read Next: Can You Play Quidditch in Hogwarts Legacy?

What will be your combat strategy in Hogwarts Legacy? Let us know in the comments below! And don’t forget to follow Gamer Haul for the latest and greatest gaming news, guides, and more!

Hogwarts Legacy is available for pre-order now and is scheduled for release on February 10, 2023, on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC; April 4, 2023, on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One; and July 25, 2023, on Nintendo Switch.

Leave a Comment